Poem 2 From A Year Ago

Who am I?

By Trent Schairer

There I am, witting on the couch with the TV on.

Alone I sit, thinking about who I am,

Or rather, who others think I am.

Some may think I’m a pimple-faced loser,

Others may think I’m secretly a psychopath.

But what should it matter to me?

I know who I am, and I don’t care what others think.

This is my life, not theirs,

So who are they to tell me what I can and can’t do?

I don’t tell people how to live their lives,

Because I don’t have control over their lives,

I’m only in control of my own.

Who am I?

I am me.

I am different from others because I don’t let society control me.

I stand out because fitting in is boring.

I live my life the way I want to, and I have a plan for it.

I can’t tell you my plan because you just won’t understand.

You’ll just tell me what everyone else tells me,

And I won’t listen because it won’t work for me.

I am who I am and no one can change that, no one,

So let me live my life, and I’ll let you live yours.

Leave a Reply

